Book List, New Releases, Staff Picks

September New Releases

It’s hard to believe fall is already upon us. Unfortunately our bookseller reading slump continues, so we just have a handful of new releases to share with you for this month.

Solutions and Other Problems by Allie Brosh

After waiting for years for Solutions and Other Problems, and wondering if Allie herself was doing okay, I couldn’t believe it when it arrived at the store for me to read. Full of Allie’s signature illustrations and humor, it’s the book her fans have been waiting for, answering many questions about how her life has been since Hyperbole and a Half, and also full of all sorts of stories from her life as a whole, from childhood through elder-millennial-hood. I can’t wait to share this book with her existing fans and new readers alike. I laughed out loud so hard I cried, and I teared up at the serious parts in the middle, the chapters where she recounts what happened when and after her sister died. Allie has delivered a book that will encourage you to cry out “me too!”, particularly when it comes to all instances relating to the small children she’s interacted with over the years.

For the first time in seven years, Allie Brosh—beloved author and artist of the extraordinary #1 New York Times bestseller Hyperbole and a Half—returns with a new collection of comedic, autobiographical, and illustrated essays.
Solutions and Other Problems includes humorous stories from Allie Brosh’s childhood; the adventures of her very bad animals; merciless dissection of her own character flaws; incisive essays on grief, loneliness, and powerlessness; as well as reflections on the absurdity of modern life.
This full-color, beautifully illustrated edition features all-new material with more than 1,600 pieces of art. Solutions and Other Problems marks the return of a beloved American humorist who has “the observational skills of a scientist, the creativity of an artist, and the wit of a comedian” (Bill Gates).

The Daughters of Yalta by Catherine Grace Katz

While I knew a bit about Sarah Churchill and Anna Roosevelt, I had never heard of Kathy Harriman and I’m so disappointed that I had to wait until now to get to know her! I greatly enjoyed reading about such an important conference during WWII, but I enjoyed it even more so getting to see it from the perspectives of three young women. Despite the wealth of WWII nonfiction, Catherine Grace Katz has found a brand new story to tell and she does so masterfully.

The untold story of the three intelligent and glamorous young women who accompanied their famous fathers to the Yalta Conference in February 1945, and of the conference’s fateful reverberations in the waning days of World War II.
Tensions during the Yalta Conference in February 1945 threatened to tear apart the wartime alliance among Franklin Roosevelt, Winston Churchill, and Joseph Stalin just as victory was close at hand. Catherine Grace Katz uncovers the dramatic story of the three young women who were chosen by their fathers to travel with them to Yalta, each bound by fierce family loyalty, political savvy, and intertwined romances that powerfully colored these crucial days.
Kathleen Harriman was a champion skier, war correspondent, and daughter of U.S. Ambassador to the Soviet Union Averell Harriman. Sarah Churchill, an actress-turned-RAF officer, was devoted to her brilliant father, who depended on her astute political mind. Roosevelt’s only daughter, Anna, chosen instead of her mother Eleanor to accompany the president to Yalta, arrived there as keeper of her father’s most damaging secrets. Situated in the political maelstrom that marked the transition to a post- war world, The Daughters of Yalta is a remarkable story of fathers and daughters whose relationships were tested and strengthened by the history they witnessed and the future they crafted together.

Crownchasers by Rebecca Coffindaffer

CROWNCHASERS is just awesome! Exciting and thrilling with a kick-ass, headstrong, wild spirit heroine about to turn an entire universe on its head it will keep you hooked from the first to the final word. A true space opera, with cutthroat and deadly political games to claim the throne of emperor you won’t be able to stop reading or catch your breath until the end of this high-octane adventure!

A deadly race across 1,001 planets will determine more than just the fate of the empire.
This explosive first book in a duology jam-packed with tension and thrills is perfect for fans of The Hunger GamesAurora Rising,and Three Dark Crowns.
Alyssa Farshot has spent her whole life trying to outrun her family legacy, even leaving behind the Kingship and her uncle, the emperor, for a life of exploring.
But when her dying uncle announces a crownchase—a search for the royal seal hidden in the empire that will determine the next ruler—Alyssa is thrust into her greatest, most dangerous adventure yet.

The Left-Handed Booksellers of London by Garth Nix

Don’t miss our virtual event with Garth Nix TONIGHT!

This book has everything. Magical booksellers who sell books by day and fight dangerous mythic creatures by night, a sarcastic and hilarious Merlin, and a strong determined girl thrown into it all. Seriously what is there to not like about this book? One awesome story!

A girl’s quest to find her father leads her to an extended family of magical fighting booksellers who police the mythical Old World of England when it intrudes on the modern world. From the bestselling master of teen fantasy, Garth Nix.
In a slightly alternate London in 1983, Susan Arkshaw is looking for her father, a man she has never met. Crime boss Frank Thringley might be able to help her, but Susan doesn’t get time to ask Frank any questions before he is turned to dust by the prick of a silver hatpin in the hands of the outrageously attractive Merlin.
Merlin is a young left-handed bookseller (one of the fighting ones), who with the right-handed booksellers (the intellectual ones), are an extended family of magical beings who police the mythic and legendary Old World when it intrudes on the modern world, in addition to running several bookshops.
Susan’s search for her father begins with her mother’s possibly misremembered or misspelt surnames, a reading room ticket, and a silver cigarette case engraved with something that might be a coat of arms.
Merlin has a quest of his own, to find the Old World entity who used ordinary criminals to kill his mother. As he and his sister, the right-handed bookseller Vivien, tread in the path of a botched or covered-up police investigation from years past, they find this quest strangely overlaps with Susan’s. Who or what was her father? Susan, Merlin, and Vivien must find out, as the Old World erupts dangerously into the New.

Grown by Tiffany D. Jackson

This book was simultaneously distressing yet impossible to put down. I was very upset while reading it, but I feel like that is what the author intended. She needed to get this story out to an audience who needs to hear it the most. Enchanted reacted the way most young people would have if they had the chance to work with their celebrity idol, and she really didn’t know better and didn’t comprehend that she was putting her life into the hands of a predator. This book has a very important message for people of all ages.

Award-winning author Tiffany D. Jackson delivers another riveting, ripped-from-the-headlines mystery that exposes horrific secrets hiding behind the limelight and embraces the power of a young woman’s voice.
When legendary R&B artist Korey Fields spots Enchanted Jones at an audition, her dreams of being a famous singer take flight. Until Enchanted wakes up with blood on her hands and zero memory of the previous night. Who killed Korey Fields?
Before there was a dead body, Enchanted’s dreams had turned into a nightmare. Because behind Korey’s charm and star power was a controlling dark side. Now he’s dead, the police are at the door, and all signs point to Enchanted.

Shine by Jessica Jung

I don’t normally read YA contemporaries, but I ventured into this one during quarantine when I needed a quick read. This book was fun, but had a few dark moments centered around the entertainment industry. The author spent most of her adolescent years in the K-Pop group, Girl’s Generation, so this book will have readers wondering what is true and what is fictionalized. There is also a great family aspect to this story, as well as a cute romance!

Crazy Rich Asians meets Gossip Girl by way of Jenny Han in this knock-out debut about a Korean American teen who is thrust into the competitive, technicolor world of K-pop, from Jessica Jung, K-pop legend and former lead singer of one of the most influential K-pop girl groups of all time, Girls Generation.
What would you give for a chance to live your dreams?
For seventeen-year-old Korean American Rachel Kim, the answer is almost everything. Six years ago, she was recruited by DB Entertainment—one of Seoul’s largest K-pop labels, known for churning out some of the world’s most popular stars. The rules are simple: Train 24/7. Be perfect. Don’t date. Easy right?
Not so much. As the dark scandals of an industry bent on controlling and commodifying beautiful girls begin to bubble up, Rachel wonders if she’s strong enough to be a winner, or if she’ll end up crushed… Especially when she begins to develop feelings for K-pop star and DB golden boy Jason Lee. It’s not just that he’s charming, sexy, and ridiculously talented. He’s also the first person who really understands how badly she wants her star to rise.
Get ready as Jessica Jung, K-pop legend and former lead singer of Korea’s most famous girl group, Girls Generation, takes us inside the luxe, hyper-color world of K-pop, where the stakes are high, but for one girl, the cost of success—and love—might be even higher. It’s time for the world to see: this is what it takes to SHINE.

1 thought on “September New Releases”

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s