Book List, Staff Picks

Meet the Booksellers: Asma & Elise

It’s hard to believe the holidays are already upon us and that this crazy year is almost over! Today we’re sharing the picks of our two most recent booksellers: Asma and Elise! Asma is our in store marketing and social media managing bookseller. Elise was our summer intern and has joined us in her new official capacity of bookseller for the holidays!

Click on the header with their pictures to see all their picks, or click on each individual cover to be redirected to it’s page on our website!

When You Reach Me by Rebecca Stead

When You Reach Me is a story that at first glance seems basic, but as you dive deeper will find nuanced writing fit for all audiences. Seriously, pay attention to the details and you won’t regret it. It’s the perfect introduction to science fiction and mystery, yet also a great read to learn about ways to navigate complicated relationships between people, and even still valuable for insight on New York in the 70s.

This Newbery Medal winner that has been called “smart and mesmerizing,” (The New York Times) and “superb” (The Wall Street Journal) will appeal to readers of all types, especially those who are looking for a thought-provoking mystery with a mind-blowing twist.
 
Shortly after a fall-out with her best friend, sixth grader Miranda starts receiving mysterious notes, and she doesn’t know what to do. The notes tell her that she must write a letter—a true story, and that she can’t share her mission with anyone.
 
It would be easy to ignore the strange messages, except that whoever is leaving them has an uncanny ability to predict the future. If that is the case, then Miranda has a big problem—because the notes tell her that someone is going to die, and she might be too late to stop it.

Goodbye, My Rose Garden Vol. 1 by Dr. Pepperco

This manga is quite the captivating slow-burn queer romance between a noblewoman with a distressing wish and her maid who is requested to fulfill it. Both characters have a way with words, as the maid is an aspiring writer and the noblewoman an expert in literature, so you will find yourself blushing, laughing, and even sulking at times, throughout the story.

In this beautiful new yuri manga, a young British noblewoman asks her maid to kill her…but the two fall in love instead!

Early in the twentieth century, Hanako journeys to England to follow her dream of becoming a novelist. When things don’t work out quite as she planned, she finds employment as a personal maid to noblewoman Alice Douglas, who makes a most unusual request: she begs Hanako to kill her! As Hanako tries to figure out why her mistress would make such a shocking plea, their relationship grows into something far deeper.

Wintergirls by Laurie Halse Anderson

Wintergirls shares the story of Lia, who has long been struggling with an eating disorder. She loses a lot at the hands of the disorder, and must find the resolve to finally let it go. In this book, Laurie Halse Anderson captures the rawness and intricacy of being a struggling teenage girl without being campy or condescending.

The New York Times bestselling story of a friendship frozen between life and death

Lia and Cassie are best friends, wintergirls frozen in fragile bodies, competitors in a deadly contest to see who can be the thinnest. But then Cassie suffers the ultimate loss—her life—and Lia is left behind, haunted by her friend’s memory and racked with guilt for not being able to help save her. In her most powerfully moving novel since Speak, award-winning author Laurie Halse Anderson explores Lia’s struggle, her painful path to recovery, and her desperate attempts to hold on to the most important thing of all: hope.

One of Us is Lying by Karen M. McManus

One of Us is Lying is must-read for fans of The Breakfast Club and Pretty Little Liars. Told from multiple perspectives, this story follows five unique students in a classroom together for detention. When detention is over, one of the students is dead. This highly addicting and mystery book will have you on the edge of your seat and flying through the pages as you try to guess who committed the crime.

Pay close attention and you might solve this.
On Monday afternoon, five students at Bayview High walk into detention.
    Bronwyn, the brain, is Yale-bound and never breaks a rule.
    Addy, the beauty, is the picture-perfect homecoming princess.
    Nate, the criminal, is already on probation for dealing.
    Cooper, the athlete, is the all-star baseball pitcher.
    AndSimon, the outcast, is the creator of Bayview High’s notorious gossip app.

Only, Simon never makes it out of that classroom. Before the end of detention Simon’s dead. And according to investigators, his death wasn’t an accident. On Monday, he died. But on Tuesday, he’d planned to post juicy reveals about all four of his high-profile classmates, which makes all four of them suspects in his murder. Or are they the perfect patsies for a killer who’s still on the loose?

Everyone has secrets, right? What really matters is how far you would go to protect them.

Book Love by Debbie Tung

This is the PERFECT book for anyone who loves to read. “Book Love” will have you laughing and smiling with every page. I related to every little quirky and unique activity illustrated in this graphic novel, from smelling books to reading in bed while sipping tea on the weekend. If you’re in need of a heart-warming and comforting story, this is the novel for you! Plus, who doesn’t love to read books about books?

Bookworms rejoice! These charming comics capture exactly what it feels like to be head-over-heels for hardcovers. And paperbacks! And ebooks! And bookstores! And libraries!

Book Love is a gift book of comics tailor-made for tea-sipping, spine-sniffing, book-hoarding bibliophiles. Debbie Tung’s comics are humorous and instantly recognizable—making readers laugh while precisely conveying the thoughts and habits of book nerds. Book Love is the ideal gift to let a book lover know they’re understood and appreciated.  

Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell

With school starting back up, Fangirl is the perfect read for this time of year. This story follows Cath, a freshman at college, who is venturing out of her comfort zone by living away from home and her twin sister. Cath is also a huge fan of the “Simon Snow” book series and has written popular fanfiction about the two main characters. If you have ever written or read fanfiction, or have even been a part of a fandom, I think you would love this book! There is a character for everyone to connect with, from Cath’s quirky introverted self to her roommate’s blunt and outgoing personality. I enjoyed Fangirl because it’s much more centered around the characters than the plot, and I appreciated how it highlighted some of the aspects of college everything feels but no one talks about. If you are a college student looking for a relatable and feel good story, this is the book for you!

In Rainbow Rowell’s Fangirl, Cath is a Simon Snow fan. Okay, the whole world is a Simon Snow fan, but for Cath, being a fan is her life—and she’s really good at it. She and her twin sister, Wren, ensconced themselves in the Simon Snow series when they were just kids; it’s what got them through their mother leaving.

Reading. Rereading. Hanging out in Simon Snow forums, writing Simon Snow fan fiction, dressing up like the characters for every movie premiere.

Cath’s sister has mostly grown away from fandom, but Cath can’t let go. She doesn’t want to.
Now that they’re going to college, Wren has told Cath she doesn’t want to be roommates. Cath is on her own, completely outside of her comfort zone. She’s got a surly roommate with a charming, always-around boyfriend, a fiction-writing professor who thinks fan fiction is the end of the civilized world, a handsome classmate who only wants to talk about words . . . And she can’t stop worrying about her dad, who’s loving and fragile and has never really been alone.

For Cath, the question is: Can she do this? Can she make it without Wren holding her hand? Is she ready to start living her own life? And does she even want to move on if it means leaving Simon Snow behind?

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s