Book List, Staff Post

YA Books Based On Your Favorite Disney Movie

Why not use your love for Disney to help you pick out your next read?

These are six young adult novels that will remind you of some of your favorite classic Disney movies!

Whether you’re looking for your own book or a gift for a loved one, here is a guide to help find the perfect Disney inspired novel.

MULAN
Flame in the Mist by Renee Ahdieh

Set in Japan, this story follows Mariko, the seventeen-year-old daughter of a samurai who dresses up like a boy to hunt down The Black Chan, a group assigned to kill her. Just like Disney’s Mulan, Mariko is a strong, bad-ass woman who you’ll love to root for.

The daughter of a prominent samurai, Mariko has long known her place—she may be an accomplished alchemist, whose cunning rivals that of her brother Kenshin, but because she is not a boy, her future has always been out of her hands. At just seventeen years old, Mariko is promised to Minamoto Raiden, the son of the emperor’s favorite consort—a political marriage that will elevate her family’s standing. But en route to the imperial city of Inako, Mariko narrowly escapes a bloody ambush by a dangerous gang of bandits known as the Black Clan, who she learns has been hired to kill her before she reaches the palace.
Dressed as a peasant boy, Mariko sets out to infiltrate the Black Clan and track down those responsible for the target on her back. Once she’s within their ranks, though, Mariko finds for the first time she’s appreciated for her intellect and abilities. She even finds herself falling in love—a love that will force her to question everything she’s ever known about her family, her purpose, and her deepest desires.

CINDERELLA
Geekerella by Ashley Poston

If you are a part of any fandom, you’ll love this book. Geekerella is a unique retelling of the classic fairytale that includes a geeky and lovable main character, a comic con, an actor instead of a prince and a pumpkin food truck. So much fun!

Cinderella goes to the con in this fandom-fueled twist on the classic fairy tale romance—now in paperback, with a special Starfield bonus scene!
Part romance, part love letter to nerd culture, and all totally adorbs, Geekerella is a fairy tale for anyone who believes in the magic of fandom. Geek girl Elle Wittimer lives and breathes Starfield, the classic sci-fi series she grew up watching with her late father. So when she sees a cosplay contest for a new Starfield movie, she has to enter. The prize? An invitation to the ExcelsiCon Cosplay Ball, and a meet-and-greet with the actor slated to play Federation Prince Carmindor in the reboot. With savings from her gig at the Magic Pumpkin food truck (and her dad’s old costume), Elle’s determined to win…unless her stepsisters get there first.
Teen actor Darien Freeman used to live for cons—before he was famous. Now they’re nothing but autographs and awkward meet-and-greets. Playing Carmindor is all he’s ever wanted, but the Starfield fandom has written him off as just another dumb heartthrob. As ExcelsiCon draws near, Darien feels more and more like a fake—until he meets a girl who shows him otherwise.

THE LITTLE MERMAID
A Song Below Water by Bethany C. Morrow

This magical realism story is not set under water, but in Portland, Oregon. It follows a Black girl who is also a siren, an underwater mythical creature. It also focuses on the Black Lives Matter movement and the struggle of having to hide your true self. 

Bethany C. Morrow’s A Song Below Water is the story for today’s readers — a captivating modern fantasy about black sirens, friendship, and self-discovery set against the challenges of today’s racism and sexism.
In a society determined to keep her under lock and key, Tavia must hide her siren powers.
Meanwhile, Effie is fighting her own family struggles, pitted against literal demons from her past. Together, these best friends must navigate through the perils of high school’s junior year.
But everything changes in the aftermath of a siren murder trial that rocks the nation, and Tavia accidentally lets out her magical voice at the worst possible moment.
Soon, nothing in Portland, Oregon, seems safe. To save themselves from drowning, it’s only Tavia and Effie’s unbreakable sisterhood that proves to be the strongest magic of all.

ALICE IN WONDERLAND
Heartless by Marissa Meyer

Have you ever wondered why the Queen of Hearts is so evil? This villian retelling of Alice in Wonderland goes back in time to when the Queen of Hearts was just a young girl. Written by the same author of the popular Lunar Chronicles series (another fairytale retelling series I highly recommend!)  this book is sure to pull at your heartstrings.

From Marissa Meyer, the #1 New York Times–bestselling story of Wonderland’s most notorious villain: the Queen of Hearts.
Long before she was the terror of Wonderland—the infamous Queen of Hearts—she was just a girl who wanted to fall in love.
Catherine may be one of the most desired girls in Wonderland, and a favorite of the unmarried King of Hearts, but her interests lie elsewhere. A talented baker, all she wants is to open a shop with her best friend. But according to her mother, such a goal is unthinkable for the young woman who could be the next queen.
Then Cath meets Jest, the handsome and mysterious court joker. For the first time, she feels the pull of true attraction. At the risk of offending the king and infuriating her parents, she and Jest enter into an intense, secret courtship. Cath is determined to define her own destiny and fall in love on her terms. But in a land thriving with magic, madness, and monsters, fate has other plans.
In her first stand-alone teen novel, the New York Times-bestselling author of the Lunar Chronicles dazzles us with a prequel to Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland.

DUMBO
The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern

The writing in this book is  breathtakingly beautiful. This story follows two magicians in a fantastical competition. You’ll want to leave real life and live in the incredibly enchanting circus world of this amazing novel.

Two starcrossed magicians engage in a deadly game of cunning in The Night Circus, the spellbinding New York Times best seller that has captured the world’s imagination.
The circus arrives without warning. No announcements precede it. It is simply there, when yesterday it was not. Within the black-and-white striped canvas tents is an utterly unique experience full of breathtaking amazements. It is called Le Cirque des Rêves, and it is only open at night.
But behind the scenes, a fierce competition is underway: a duel between two young magicians, Celia and Marco, who have been trained since childhood expressly for this purpose by their mercurial instructors. Unbeknownst to them both, this is a game in which only one can be left standing. Despite the high stakes, Celia and Marco soon tumble headfirst into love, setting off a domino effect of dangerous consequences, and leaving the lives of everyone, from the performers to the patrons, hanging in the balance.

ROBIN HOOD
Sherwood by Meagan Spooner

When Robin Hood dies, Maid Marian takes his place. This gender-flipped retelling is the perfect combination of old elements you love from the original story mixed with new ideas and unique perspectives. 

Fans of Danielle Paige, Marissa Meyer, and Alex Flinn will devour New York Times bestselling author Meagan Spooner’s next fierce fairy tale-inspired story, which Illuminae author Amie Kaufman calls “a kick-ass, gender-flipped feminist retelling.”
Robin of Locksley is dead.
Maid Marian doesn’t know how she’ll go on, but the people of Locksley town, persecuted by the Sheriff of Nottingham, need a protector. And the dreadful Guy of Gisborne, the Sheriff’s right hand, wishes to step into Robin’s shoes as Lord of Locksley and Marian’s fiancé.
Who is there to stop them?
Marian never meant to tread in Robin’s footsteps—never intended to stand as a beacon of hope to those awaiting his triumphant return. But with a sweep of his green cloak and the flash of her sword, Marian makes the choice to become her own hero: Robin Hood.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s